All Forums Database
peter.wang 9 posts Joined 10/07
31 Oct 2007
10065 WSA E HostUnreach:The Teradata server can't currently be reached over this network

HiI am new to TD and I am having few queries in utilities to TD.I was installed the teradata demo cd. It was installed without any problems. I was started the database by using teradata service control.After that i tried to connect sql assistant/ Teradata Administrator to login to the teradata database. there will be already an ODBC dsn with name DemoTDAT which I use to connect to the db it was saying the following error.10065 WSA E HostUnreach:The Teradata server can't currently be reached over this network.I tried the following existing methods to avoid the problems but there is no use.1. Verified the host file. it was fine127.0.0.1 localhost DemoTDATcop12. Stoped the firewall & Antiviruses . No use.Can you please someone suggest the exact answer. Can you please someone give the proper answer.I would really appreciate your help .Thanks & RegardsPeter

peter.wang 9 posts Joined 10/07
31 Oct 2007

I have search the same question in the Forums.but I am not find the answer.

peter.wang 9 posts Joined 10/07
31 Oct 2007

I connect from bteqSHOW:Teradata BTEQ 08.02.03.03 for WIN32. Copyright 1984-2006, NCR Corporation. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Enter your logon or BTEQ command:.logon DemoTDAT/dbc.logon DemoTDAT/dbcPassword: *** *** Warning: DBS CRASHED OR SESSIONS RESET. RECOVERY IN PROGRESS> please someone suggest the exact answer

peter.wang 9 posts Joined 10/07
01 Nov 2007

In windows services.the Teradata Database Initiator (Recond) .I start the service.but 5 mins later,the service stop by itself.

nithyanandam 65 posts Joined 10/04
01 Nov 2007

Are you trying to install on a machine that is in the network or stand alone/laptop?

joedsilva 505 posts Joined 07/05
01 Nov 2007

I hope you have installed all the required components installed (like Bynet etc)Check if you can see in your windows services, one entry for bynet, and three entries that starts with teradata ....of these 4 entries, 3 of them except the teradata database initiator should be running (this one is normally in stopped state because it just starts up the db server and stops...).next, go to the command prompt and typenet start recond.wait for a couple of minutes.type (You might have to do it from teradata command prompt accessible via program files, if this utility is not in the path)pdestate -aAnd check what it says...Also look around in places like windows event viewer to see if something has goofed up !And I hope you didn't install it on vista ! :(

peter.wang 9 posts Joined 10/07
01 Nov 2007

I think I made a mistake.I install the teradata on a 64bit machine.now I install the teradata on a 32bit machine.I can connect to DemoTDAT.Thanks!!

ywlydia 1 post Joined 12/08
03 Dec 2008

I've installed the V2R6.1 TD DB server on my 32 bit widnow XP and experienced the same problem when connecting the DB via SQL Assistance."10065 WSA E HostUnreach:The Teradata server can't currently be reached over the netweok."I've bynet and TTU component BTEQ, SQL Assistance. The bynet and teradata database initiator services are started with no error. And I found no application or system error in the event viewer. Does any have ideas? Please help. Thank you.

polonet 4 posts Joined 01/09
01 Feb 2009

I've the same problem when connecting the DB via any Teradata Tool. I´ve"10065 WSA E HostUnreach:The Teradata server can't currently be reached over the network." I've installed the Teradata Express Edition on my Windows Server 2008 Enterprise Edition, 32 bits.Sorry, I'm new in Teradata ...

You must sign in to leave a comment.