The Windows installation of Studio and Studio Express supports preconfigured preferences that can be provided during the installation process. The feature focuses on those preferences that pertain to database interactions. The Windows media image contains a preferences template file in the /config directory called TeradataStudioPreferences_template.config (for Studio) or TeradataStudioExpressPreferences_template.config (for Studio Express). 

Pre-configured preferences include query lists views, connection options, query band settings, Data Source Explorer load preferences, and profile connection types.

Below is a snippet from the preference template file showing some of the Query Lists preference settings:

  <!-- Teradata Datatools Preferences -->

  <!-- Query Lists -->
    <!--
      Load Databases list from -->

      Description: Indicates which data dictionary view should
       be used to query for databases.
      Value: DBC.DatabasesV, DBC.DatabasesVX or a custom value
      Default: DBC.DatabasesV
      Custom Value: view with similar schema to DBC.DatabasesV
       or DBC.DatabasesVX
     -->
    <DatabasesListView value="DBC.DatabasesV"/>

    <!--
      Load Tables and Views lists from

      Description: Indicates which data dictionary view should
       be used to query for tables and views.
      Value: DBC.TablesV, DBC.TablesVX or a custom value
      Default: DBC.TablesV
      Custom Value: view with similar schema to DBC.TablesV
       or DBC.TablesVX
     -->
    <TablesAndViewsListView value="DBC.TablesV"/>

    <!--
      Load Macros and Procedures lists from

      Description: Indicates which data dictionary view should
       be used to query for macros and procedures.
      Value: DBC.TablesV, DBC.TablesVX or a custom value
      Default: DBC.TablesV
      Custom Value: view with similar schema to DBC.TablesV
       or DBC.TablesVX
     -->
    <MacrosAndProceduresListView value="DBC.TablesV"/>

Additional special preferences are also provided, such as disabling the connection profile 'Save Password' option, disabling auto commit in the SQL Editor, or controlling copy, export, and print of result set content.

Below is a snippet showing the Allow Save Password, Auto Commit, and Result Set Handling preferences:

<!-- Connection Profile Properties Dialog ->
    <!--
      Allow Save Password
      
      Description: Controls the enablement of the Save Password
       checkbox in the Connection Profile Properties/Details
       dialog.
      Value: true or false
      Default: true
     -->
    <AllowSavePassword value="true"/>

  <!-- SQL Editor -->
    <!--
      Auto Commit
      
      Description: Controls the value and enablement of the
       Auto Commit checkbox in the SQL Editor
      Value: true if auto commit should always be set or false
      Default: true
     -->
    <AutoCommit value="true"/>

  <!-- Result Set Handling -->
    <!--
      Allow Copy and Export

      Description: Controls lock down of copy and export functionality
       for results set output.
      Values: true to allow copy and export or false
      Default: true
     -->
    <AllowCopyAndExport value="true"/>

The preferences template also provides an option to lock the preferences, preventing the user from changing the preference at runtime.

  <!-- General -->
    <!--
      Preferences Lock

      Description: Controls lock down of all preferences which
       can be set in this template to inhibit alteration at runtime.
      Values: true to lock down preferences or false
      Default: false
     -->
    <LockPreferences value="false"/>

Edit the preference template file prior to installation to specify those preferences you wish to intialize and whether to lock the preference.

Once the install is completed and you have launched Studio or Studio Express, the behavior will reflect the preference settings.

Below is a screen capture showing the Result Set Viewer when setting Result Set Handling AllowCopyAndExport to false. The toolbar and menu options noted in red are disabled.

If Preference Lock is set to true, the preference pages will become disabled. Below shows an example of the New Profile Connection Type page after locking the preferences.